Organizational Review

Craft Nova Scotia Planning for the Future: Organizational Review

Organizational Review Update
April 22, 2022
 

I would like to take this moment to thank everyone who has volunteered their time to take part in our Organizational Review. We appreciate your dedication to this endeavor. There has been a great deal of work done as part of our Organizational Review to improve and strengthen the organization. We are working together to identify themes, review your recommendations, and create actionable steps forward. 

To date we have completed: a community survey, conducted a series of focused discussions, and conducted two online Community Engagement Sessions. We have also received and collected additional information via email and individual conversations. Our consultant, Inga Petri, from Strategic Moves Inc., has compiled the initial findings of the review, which were shared and discussed at the last Community Engagement Session online on April 14th, 2022. We took some time together at this session to explore what resonated most, to assist in identifying key areas of focus going forward.   

The first Planning Group Meeting was held on Thursday, April 21, 2022 to further develop the areas of focus going forward. The Planning Group consists of approximately 10 community members, as well as our Board and Staff. The second, and final session, Planning Group Session is scheduled for May 5th, 2022 to review potential recommendations for consideration.  

Craft Nova Scotia has been supporting the craft community for almost 50 years, and we have many strengths and accomplishments to be proud of and celebrate. This review is seeking to build on the good work that we have done as an organization to date, and enhance what and how we do this work going forward.  

Thank you to all of you who have participated in discussions and or completed a survey to help guide the way forward for Craft Nova Scotia. 

Best regards,
Kelly Jerrott
Executive Director

You Are Invited:
Craft Nova Scotia’s Organizational and Program Review Update  

During the last few months, Craft Nova Scotia has been working through its organizational and program review with an outside consultant, Inga Petri of Strategic Moves. 

You are invited to participate in a community meeting to review the findings from this process and help inform the planning process. This meeting is open to anyone who is interested in ensuring Craft Nova Scotia is a strong, resilient and sustainable organization long into the future. It will be actively facilitated by Inga, based on a series of ground rules around active listening, respectful dialogue and maintaining an open mind throughout the conversation. 

This session is a chance to meet the Planning Group which is comprised of the Board of Directors, core staff, and community members.  

The Report of Findings will be shared with all who RSVP in advance, so you have a chance to review the findings in your own time, think about implications and help identify the most important areas of action or change you see. 

We will break into small group conversations to give all participants sufficient opportunity to share their thoughts, reactions and responses. 

Date: Thursday, April 14, 2022  
Time: 6 pm to 8:30 pm Atlantic 
Medium: Zoom video conference; those without adequate Internet access can also call in at the provided phone numbers 

RSVP to join in the conversation about Craft Nova Scotia’s future directions: 
https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZEtd-itqT0uHNCNiYPtjcxSujAOegggYqPA   

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information
about joining the meeting. 


Thanks for considering participating in this conversation about the future of Craft Nova Scotia. 

STRENGTHENING CRAFT NOVA SCOTIA AND BROADENING ITS IMPACT

Craft Nova Scotia aiming to emerge stronger from COVID-19

The COVID-19 Pandemic has caused much upheaval across the whole arts and culture sector in Nova Scotia and across Canada. Craft Nova Scotia had to close the physical Designer Craft Shop, and we has been following public health mandates which have resulted in changes to our programs and services to members. We are grateful for the pandemic relief funding programs by the Governments of Canada and Nova Scotia to help us get through this period of uncertainty.

We recognize that we, like all arts organizations, must come to terms not only with the impacts of COVID-19, but also with the social movements of our time. As we look toward 2022, we are taking this opportunity to conduct an organizational and program review through the lenses of Truth and Reconciliation as well as equity, diversity and inclusion of people from diverse backgrounds and ethnicities.

Craft Nova Scotia will celebrate the 50th anniversary of its founding in 2023. While such anniversaries are a valuable opportunity to look back on how far we have come, it is important to carefully consider how we go forward into the future. This review process is timely, and is designed to build a new legacy of repairing relationships, creating an inclusive organization with relevant programs for a diverse range of members and the wider craft community.

We have engaged a third-party consultancy, Strategic Moves, to facilitate the research and community engagement process over the next four months.

This initiative will include a review of our organizational structures, governance and programming to identify and reduce systemic barriers to the full and equitable participation of craft makers from across Nova Scotia’s diverse communities. In addition, Strategic Moves will prepare a review of external trends, challenges and opportunities, including how the arts sector at large is working toward recovery and resiliency, the digital transformation of society and trends in retail.

Members and the public will be invited, and have the opportunity to participate in this work through roundtable conversations via Zoom meetings and an online survey.

“Craft Nova Scotia is a membership-based arts service organization that relies on the active participation of its current members as well as the wider craft community to help shape the next phase in our evolution.  A sub-committee of Craft Nova Scotia’s Board of Directors is acting as “process stewards” to ensure this work reaches out to and engages the full diversity of the craft community and to support the independent consultant’s work. From the outset, the voice of members and the wider craft community will be pivotal to shaping the outcomes of this initiative.” Deborah Wheeler, President, Board of Directors, Craft Nova Scotia.

About Craft Nova Scotia

Craft Nova Scotia is located within Mi’kma’ki, the ancestral and unceded territory of the Mi’kmaq People. This territory is covered by the Treaties of Peace and Friendship of 1726.  We acknowledge and honour the Mi’kmaq people who have cared for and continue to care for this land.

Craft Nova Scotia, (also known as Nova Scotia Designer Crafts Council), is a non-profit, charitable arts service organization that works to encourage and promote both the craft movement in Nova Scotia and the public awareness and appreciation of craft products and activities.

Craft Nova Scotia was formed in 1973 to support and develop the quality craft movement. Today, it is the provincially recognized craft organization; we have a membership of approximately 300 individual artisans and craft enthusiasts and represent over 1,000 others through various member groups and guilds.

About Strategic Moves

www.strategicmoves.ca

Strategic Moves, founded by Inga Petri in Ottawa in 2007, is now located in Whitehorse, Yukon on the Traditional Territories of the Ta’an Kwäch’än Council and Kwanlin Dün First Nation. These are self-governing nations that negotiated modern treaties (2002; 2005) under the Umbrella Final Agreement between the 14 Yukon First Nations and the Governments of Canada and Yukon.

Strategic Moves operates at the crossroads of research, strategy and marketing. Their success in working with organizations in the public and private sectors, is the result of designing highly dynamic, collaborative approaches that guarantee the purposeful, ongoing participation of clients and stakeholders backed by data-driven research and analysis. Since 2007 they have gained a national reputation through large-scale national studies, and major research and strategy assignments at the national, provincial/territorial and regional levels. Strategic Moves maintains a strong focus on the arts and cultural sectors in every province and territory in Canada, including in Nova Scotia and the Atlantic Region.

For more information

Kelly Jerrott, Executive Director
Craft Nova Scotia
Email: exec.director@craftnovascotia.ca
Phone (mobile): 902-880-3314

Inga Petri, President
Strategic Moves
Email: ipetri@strategicmoves.ca
Phone (mobile) : 613-558-8433

Project Schedule

December 2021
• Project start up, document and literature review
• Engagement and communications plan
 
January 2022
• Prepare Environmental Scan of external trends, challenges and opportunities
• In-depth Interviews with Key informants (individuals TBD)
• Design and field online survey for members, former and potential members and the public at large
 
February 2022
• Continue promoting online survey to members and the public at large
• 3 Digital Roundtables with current members – participants will be paid honoraria (date TBD)
• 2 Community engagement sessions via zoom, RSVP required – active participants will be paid honoraria (date TBD)
• Prepare a Comprehensive Report of Findings
 
March 2022
• Presentation of findings in an open community meeting (date TBD)
• Series of 3 Planning sessions including the Craft Nova Scotia Board of Directors, Staff and interested members and representatives of equity-seeking groups
• Develop jointly recommendations for changes to organizational structure and governance, programs and services, membership criteria, and identification of any supporting training and development

Project Contact

The Craft Nova Scotia Board of Directors has contracted Strategic Moves to gather input from our membership, former and potential members as well as the wider craft community, partners and other stakeholders and support the creation of a series of recommendations.
 
For more information, please contact:

Inga Petri, President
Strategic Moves
Email: ipetri@strategicmoves.ca
Phone (mobile) : 613-558-8433

Project Organization

How to Join the Planning Group

The Planning Group will be made up of the Craft Nova Scotia’s elected Board of Directors, which includes the “process stewards” as a sub-committee of the board, staff, and community representatives.
 
Planning Group will actively participate in the reflection and planning process. The decision process is designed to achieve consensus, the process and conversations should lead to a common set of goals and implementation paths.
 
Craft Nova Scotia is looking for Community Representatives to join the Organizational Review Planning Group. We welcome participation from individuals interested in supporting the evolution of Craft Nova Scotia: current members, former and potential members, people interested in advancing reconciliation, equity, diversity and inclusion.
 
We are inviting up to 10 community representatives to participate in the Planning Group, with a preference given to individuals from equity seeking groups.  It is important that we have representatives with varying perspectives from Nova Scotia’s Craft Community. Submissions will be reviewed to ensure a diverse representation and perspective within the Group.
 
The first 10 submissions who are able to commit the time needed for fulsome participation, and a diverse representation and perspective will be considered for the Planning Group.
 
Criteria for participation: 
  • must be able to commit to the time to fully engage in the planning work
  • have an interest in strengthening Craft Nova Scotia for the benefit of the whole craft community in Nova Scotia
  • have an interest in advancing truth and reconciliation with Indigenous communities
  • have an interest in advancing equity, diversity and inclusion within Craft Nova Scotia
Craft Nova Scotia is seeking creative individuals from diverse backgrounds to join our planning group for a 3 months period in early 2022. People from Indigenous, racialized, disability, 2SLGBTQ+, and other equity-seeking communities anywhere in Nova Scotia are invited to contact Inga Petri to discuss the planning group’s work.
 
THERE ARE TWO AVENUES TO JOIN THE PLANNING GROUP:
  • By indicating so in the online survey when it becomes available
  • By emailing a note to Inga Petri, Strategic Moves at ipetri@strategicmoves.ca or by leaving a voicemail at her mobile number, 613-558-8433
Expected Time Commitment for the Planning Group
 
Anyone who joins the planning group is expected to commit to the following work:
• Promote the research and evaluation activities in particular the online survey and Zoom based roundtable discussion (1-2 hours in January)
• Review the Report of Findings, and any interim reports in advance of the planning sessions (about 4 to 6 hours, February and early March)
• Participate in a Community meeting via Zoom or Phone-in to review findings with the Membership at large/broader community with an interest in Craft Nova Scotia (about 2 hours, early March)
• Participate in 3 Planning Group sessions via Zoom or Phone-in of about 2.5 hours each during March 2022 (Dates and times TBD, during second half of March.)
 
Honorarium for participation in the planning group
We are able to offer an honorarium to up to 10 community members of $300 to participate in this planning process.